The new opposition is really starting to take form in Parliament with MPs coming from the Democratic Party and the Socialist Movement for Integration lists having already formalized their two parliamentary groups.

Rudina Hajdari will be the chair of the DP’s Parliamentary Group and Nimet Musai will lead the Socialist Movement for Integration’s parliamentary group.

At the most recent parliamentary session, held today, they expressed their dissatisfaction with those set on boycotting the June 30th election, explaining that they instead will choose to focus on the required amendments to the Electoral Code.

“We as a group disagree with the boycott of the June 30 elections. I see that time is not in our favour, but we will strive in every way for DP supporters to have an alternative for these elections.

“I encourage all members of the opposition to reconsider their decision to boycott the elections, as such a move is completely undemocratic," said Hajdari.

The formalization of these parliamentary groups allows the new MPs to be part of the Electoral Reform Commission.

This fact was also welcomed by the Socialist Party, with the SP parliamentary group chair, Taulant Balla, declaring the Commission’s first point of business as being the approval of the emigrant vote.

The creation of the groups, however, was not without controversy and internal conflict, with four DP MPs and 5 SMI MPs refusing to be a part of the newly formed Parliamentary Groups.